SWT Annual Council Addendum

Tuesday, 4th May, 2021, 12.00 pm



Members:

Hazel Prior-Sankey (Chair), Simon Coles (Vice-Chair), lan Aldridge, Benet Allen, Lee Baker, Marcus Barr, Mark Blaker, Chris Booth, Paul Bolton, Sue Buller, Norman Cavill, Dixie Darch, Hugh Davies, Dave Durdan, Kelly Durdan, Caroline Ellis, Habib Farbahi, Ed Firmin, Andrew Govier, Roger Habgood, Andrew Hadley, John Hassall, Ross Henley, Marcia Hill, John Hunt, Marcus Kravis, Richard Lees, Sue Lees, Libby Lisgo, Mark Lithgow, Janet Lloyd, Dave Mansell, Andy Milne, Chris Morgan, Simon Nicholls, Craig Palmer, Derek Perry, Martin Peters, Peter Pilkington, Andy Pritchard, Steven Pugsley, Mike Rigby, Francesca Smith, Federica Smith-Roberts, Vivienne Stock-Williams, Phil Stone, Andrew Sully, Nick Thwaites, Anthony Trollope-Bellew, Ray Tully, Terry Venner, Sarah Wakefield, Alan Wedderkopp, Danny Wedderkopp, Brenda Weston, Keith Wheatley, Loretta Whetlor and Gwil Wren

Addendum

10. Council Committees for 2021/2022 and their Terms of Reference

To decide which Committees to establish for the Municipal Year and to decide their size and terms of reference. To decide the numerical allocation of seats to political groups on Committees in accordance with the political balance rules and to make appointments to the Committees:

- Scrutiny Committee
- Audit, Governance and Standards Committee
- Planning Committee
- Licensing Committee

Note: If the Council resolves to make the changes set out in the Council Governance Arrangements Working Group Report and Updates to the Constitution Report at the Special Council meeting on 29 April 2021, appointments will be made to the following Committees:

- Corporate Scrutiny Committee
- Community Scrutiny Committee
- Audit and Governance Committee
- Planning Committee
- Licensing Committee

(Pages 5 - 10)

• Standards Committee

JAMES HASSETT CHIEF EXECUTIVE

Addendum

Somerset West and Taunton Council Committees, Terms of Reference, Committee Allocation and Appointments to Committees

This addendum has been drafted to provider Members with an update as to what is being voted on following the Council meetings on 29 and 30 April where the Council Governance Arrangements Working Group Report and Update to the Constitution Report were considered.

Recommendations:

The Council approves:

- a) The Committee structure as set out in section A below
- b) The size of each Committee as set out in section B below
- c) The Terms of Reference of those Committees as set out in Appendix G
- d) The numerical political allocation as set out in Appendix H
- e) The Councillor appointments to Committees as set out in Appendix I

Section A - Establishment of Committees for the 2021/22 Municipal Year

The Committees to be established for the 2021/22 Municipal Year are:

- Corporate Scrutiny Committee
- Community Scrutiny Committee
- Audit and Governance Committee
- Planning Committee
- Licensing Committee
- Standards Committee

Section B - Size and Terms of Reference for those Committees

Committee	Size
Corporate Scrutiny Committee	15
Community Scrutiny Committee	15
Audit and Governance Committee	11
Planning Committee	15
Licensing Committee	15
Standards Committee	9
Total Committee seats	80

Appendix I - Committee Composition from AGM on 4 MAY 2021

Executive	Portfolio Holder
Councillor Federica Smith-Roberts	Leader of the Council and Communications
Councillor Derek Perry	Deputy Leader and Sports, Parks and Leisure
Councillor Chris Booth	Community
Councillor Dixie Darch	Climate Change
Councillor Caroline Ellis	Culture
Councillor Ross Henley	Corporate Resources
Councillor Marcus Kravis	Asset Management and Economic Development
Councillor Mike Rigby	Planning and Transportation
Councillor Francesca Smith	Housing
Councillor Andrew Sully	Environmental Services

Corporate Scrutiny Committee
Cllr
Liberal Democrat or Conservative

Community Scrutiny Committee
Cllr
Liberal Democrat or Conservative

Planning Committee
Cllr
Liberal Democrat or Conservative

Licensing Committee
Cllr
Liberal Democrat or Conservative

Audit and Governance Committee
Cllr

Standards Committee
Cllr
Independent Member
Independent Member
T&P Council Rep
T&P Council Rep

Appointments Panel for the Chief Executive

The Constitution states that that appointment panel for the appointment of the Chief Executive (Head of Paid Service) is:

- a) The Chair or Vice Chair of aScrutiny Committee or the Chair or Vice Chair of a Regulatory Committee:
- b) The Leader and two other Members of the Executive;
- c) The Chair or Vice Chair of the Council.

The above representatives may appoint a substitute as necessary and that all the above, where possible, should reflect the political balance of the Council.

Appointments to other Senior Roles

The appointment panel shall include:-

- a) The Chair or Vice Chair of a Scrutiny Committee or the Chair or Vice Chair of a Regulatory Committee:
- b) The Leader and one Member of the Executive
- c) The Chief Executive

The Chief Executive to make the appointment having consulted the members of the panel.

Independent Person:

By law the Council is required to appoint an Independent Person to work with the Standards Committee on complaints about Councillors. This position is currently held by Louise Somerville

Independent Members for Audit, Governance and Standards Committee:

It is recommended that for the 2021/2022 Municipal Year that the role of Independent Members is advertised and, interested parties are interviewed and the Audit, Governance and Standards Committee then select the two best candidates.

Town and Parish Council reps for the Audit, Governance and Standards Committee:

It is recommended that for the 2021/2022 Municipal Year that all Town and Parish Councils are contacted to see if any Councillors are interested in this role and appointments are then made by the Audit, Governance and Standards Committee.

POLITICAL ALLOCATION – For the AGM in May 2021

	Totals	Liberal	Independent +	Conservative	Labour	
		Democrats (LD)	Green (I+G)	(Con)	(Lab)	
		30	15 ′	`10 ´	3	
% based on	100	51.72%	25.86%	17.24%	5.17%	
current membership of 58 (1 seat vacant)		(52)	(26)	(17)	(5)	
Committee	80	41.37	20.68	13.79	4.14	
Seats		(41)	(21)	(14)	(4)	
Committee	No on Committee	LD (41)	l+G (21)	Con (14)	Lab (4)	Total
Corporate Scrutiny	15	7.69 (8)	3.94 (4)	2.63 (3)	0.75 (1)	16 - Need to reduce by 1 seat
Community Scrutiny	15	7.69 (8)	3.94 (4)	2.63 (3)	0.75 (1)	16 - Need to reduce by 1 seat
Audit and Governance	11	5.64 (6)	2.89 (3)	1.93 (2)	0.55 (0)	11
Planning	15	7.69 (8)	3.94 (4)	2.63 (3)	0.75 (1)	16 - Need to reduce by 1 seat
Licensing	15	7.69 (8)	3.94 (4)	2.63 (3)	0.75 (1)	16 - Need to reduce by 1 seat
Standards	9	4.62 (5)	2.36 (2)	1.57 (2)	0.45 (0)	9
Total	80	43	21	16	4	77
		<mark>+2</mark>	0	<mark>+2</mark>	0	<mark>+4</mark>